The Wolf of Wall Street (Edited)

26 Feb

Among 8 movies I saw in cinema throughout last year, only two are on my recommended list: The Great Gatsby & Ender’s Game (You did not see it wrong. Thor 2, The Hobbit 2, Man of Steel, Iron Man 3 & The Wolverine are NOT on the list. You can just watch the DVDs or wait for them to come on cable movie channels). Though it is just February of 2014, however, there is already a movie that I consider worth watching in a theater: The Wolf of Wall Street. Is it really a good movie? For the under-aged, it is definitely NOT! Throughout the movie, it contains moral decadence, sexual content and presence of heavy drug use. Is it an entertaining drama? I think it is for adults who have (enough) interest in stock market investment and would like to “mock” at/“witness” those greedy sleazeballs who rose & fell. On the other hand, does Leonardo Dicaprio deserve the Golden Globe Award for Best Actor – Motion Picture Musical or Comedy? Absolutely~ As far as I’m concerned, his acting even exceeds what he did in The Great Gatsby! He just nailed the role of being a scumbag – a corrupt stock broker scamming money from ignorant clients. To get to the bottom line, is the plot enticing? Well, it isn’t as intriguing as The Great Gatsby but it may not be fair to compare these two. After all, The Wolf of Wall Street is based on Jordan Belfort’s memoir while The Great Gatsby is adopted from a well-known 1925 novel that I read way back on my university days. Overall, I like the movie and recommend it but it certainly ISN’T a movie for everyone. Viewer discretion is STRONGLY advised!

Here are the movie quotes I remember and find interesting:
#1. There’s no nobility in poverty. I’ve been a poor man, and I’ve been a rich man. And I choose rich every f***ing time.
#2. First rule of Wall Street: Nobody – and I don’t care if you’re Warren Buffet or __(I can’t recall this name mentioned in the movie)__ – nobody knows if a stock is going up, down or f***ing sideways, least of all stockbrokers. But we have to pretend we do.

#3. The normal world? Who wants to live there? I’d rather put a gun in my mouth. This company is my golden ticket to Charlie’s Chocolate Factory. I wanna be with the f***ing Oompa Loompa’s.

#4. Money doesn’t just buy a better life, better food, better cars, better p***y. It also makes you a better person. You can give generously to the church or a political party of your choice.

To conclude, it’s always convenient to just leave with trailers~ Ha~

 

By the way, if you are curious about this person Jordan Belfort, you may watch this interview on The Room Live:

 

Leave a Reply

